In PIXERA, you can edit the layout of the UI to suit your needs. Individual panes can be removed or further subdivided and filled with content from one of the application’s windows. Panes can be “detached,” which means they are hosted in their own top-level window, allowing them to be dragged to a different screen.
The tab orientation is maintained, with layout changes saved for each tab.
To access this functionality, you need to right-click between the existing panes (in the gutters) and then use the options offered in the menu. You will have to specify through the submenus on which side of the gutter the pane is that you want to separate (left, right, top, or bottom), and whether you want to split it horizontally or vertically.

Right-clicking on it, you can now choose to move or add certain panels to a new, empty pane.

There are some limitations on some of the panes and how many instances you may have of them: the Preview Workspace and the Timeline can only be shown once, and the Preview Workspace can not be detached into an independent window. The Resources, Screen Groups, Timelines, and Cue List panes can also only be shown once. There are also some context-related limitations on which content can be shown in which tabs.
Add Control Module UI to Panes
If you have any Control modules that have a UI (see Creating a User Interface In Control), you can add the UI to any empty pane anywhere, even outside the Control tab. This allows you to use the custom functionality you made for your workflow wherever you need it inside the application. To do so, add an empty section by right-clicking on the gutter where you want to add your module UI and choosing “Split”, then right-click on the empty pane and select “Add Control Module”. Finally, select your module from the dropdown.

Detaching Sections
You can undock certain sections, like the resources tab, to move them to a second monitor, for example. Navigate to the Detach property by right-clicking in the gutter and choosing which window to un-dock


Other sections, like the Timeline, can be detached by clicking on the “Change Layout” button and selecting “Detach”.

Re-Adding Detached Windows
Detached windows can be attached again by closing them:

Save and Recall Layouts
To save the edited layout to recall it on a later stage, right-click on the window divider and select “Layout - Save Current”.

Give it a name of your choice and hit "OK.
This Layout is then saved as a file on the system and can be found in the directory C:\ProgramData\AV Stumpfl\Pixera\layouts
In this directory, all the saved layouts can be found as files:

Once saved, it can also be recalled in PIXERA - right click again on the window divider and select the previously saved (or any other existing) layout:

NOTE
A layout can be saved individually for each Tab and therefore must be saved as individual layouts. There is currently no global layout option implemented
Reset Layout
To completely reset the layout of PIXERAs windows, right-click between the windows and select “Reset Layout”.

Please also take a look at how to display a “cue list” within the GUI, explained in this article: Cue List
Known Issues and Current Limitations
- Inspector window elements can not currently be detached.
- If the timeline has been detached in saved layouts in Control or Compositing and these are loaded, it can happen that the detached timeline turns black.
Scaling the empty Timeline window causes the Timeline visible in Compositing to go to full screen - changing the Tabs resets this.
This has no effect on the playout and can be rectified by resetting the layout.
Pixera 25.1 RC22 | 10. June 2025 | FE
